Fabric Covered Box Tutorial

You may remember that last week, I wrote about my goal to redecorate my desk. Of course, I want to do my best to apply a DIY spirit to the whole thing! I have several small projects in mind to create accessories for the desk, and I finished the first one this weekend!

I want to create items that are both pretty and useful, since my desk is pretty small! Although fabric covered boxes aren’t a new idea, they are a perfect combination of those requirements. I now have a way to store small office supplies, and beautify my space.

These boxes are a quick and rewarding project, so I made a little tutorial, so you can make these lovely little boxes for yourself!

Step 1:

Pick your fabric! Fat quarters work well for this. I found these lovely coordinating prints on clearance.

Step 2:

Find and measure the box you want to use. I liked the size and shape of this little gift box. Your box can either have a lid or not. If it does, set the lid aside for now. Measure the length, width, and height of the box.

Step 3:

Here is the pattern for cutting the fabric. I drew this as a square, but it can be whatever shape your box is. Measure out a space with the length and width of your box. Add to each side the height of the sides of the box plus 1/2 an inch. You’ll actually cut out this larger piece, or the outer black square on the pattern. Finally, cut on the gray lines.

If you have one, this cutting is easier with a rotary cutter, but scissors work too!

Step 4:

Cover the box with craft glue. You need it to be covered completely, but with a thin layer, so that the fabric will be smooth.

Step 5:

Center the box over the prepared fabric piece, and smooth the fabric over the bottom of the box. Also glue the shorter sides of fabric to the box. I used a popsicle stick to help make the fabric smoother.

Step 6:

Smooth the longer sides up onto the box. Put another thin layer of glue where the excess fabric will overlap the neighboring side.Fold the raw edge of the fabric in, and glue down the excess.

Step 7:

Apply a small line of glue around the top inside edge of the box. Fold the fabric over the top of the box.

Step 8:

I didn’t take any pictures of this part, but if you have a lid, treat it as another box, just with different dimensions!

And that’s it, you’re done! Admire your fabulous new box.

Here is my finished product. I really like it, and I’m planning to make one or two more to stack on my desk.

Have a fabulous day!

3 thoughts on “Fabric Covered Box Tutorial

  1. Pingback: The Desk Makeover is Complete! « Making Life Fabulous

Comment-I love to hear your thoughts!

