Weekend Sewing Project

Happy Labor Day everyone! I hope you are enjoying your long weekend!

On Saturday, I decided to put aside homework and other tasks and do a sewing project! I’ve had this pretty blue fabric with peachy pink stripes for a while, so I decided to use it. I wanted to make a skirt, and had a pretty specific look in mind. I didn’t really use a pattern, just took what I knew about skirt construction to create my vision!

The bracelet belonged to my great-grandma, and it’s fabulously sparkly! It’s just a bit over the top, so I didn’t wear any other jewelry to let it stand out.

I put a bow on the back, just for fun! The color of the fabric is so light, I really won’t be able to wear it much longer this year, although I’ll definitely fit it in a few more time! But I’ll save it to wear next year, too.

;

26 thoughts on “Weekend Sewing Project

  1. i am always so jealous of people who can sew. this skirt is so pretty. i love the wide band and the bow on the back is the perfect touch! great job! also, that bracelet is gorgeous!

  2. Seriously, you are beyond talented. You should put your designs up for sale in an etsy shop (I would DEF buy!) I love this skirt and the bow detail is perfect. That bracelet is beautiful too, what a fun keepsake from your great grandma. πŸ™‚

    Stephanie

  3. I love your skirt!! Um so if I send you my measurements and what you want to charge…will you make me one? πŸ™‚ Oh I’m only kidding…I know you are busy with things. But you are so talented!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: High Five for Friday « Making Life Fabulous

  5. Rachel, thank you for swinging by my blog, and I’m so glad I found yours in return! You are such a talented seamstress, and have great style! I bought my first sewing machine a couple months back and have tried an “upcycling” project, but am still too chicken to try anything from scratch. You have a happy new reader, and I’m going to be looking to you for inspiration!

Comment-I love to hear your thoughts!

