Curly Hair and a Trip to Memphis

This past Saturday, my family and I went on a day trip to Memphis to see some museums and enjoy the cooler weather. Here are some pictures from the trip!

I wanted to be comfortable, but still look put-together, so I pulled out my sheer cream blouse that is my new favorite shirt. Cropped boyfriend jeans and penny loafers completed the look. Also, here’s a glimpse of my natural, curly hair! I didn’t have time to style it before we left, so I put in my curl mousse and let it air-dry.


We went to the Fire Museum first. My brothers love this one!

They have some beautifully restored vintage fire-engines

Next, we went to the Mud Island State Park and Museum. Mud Island is in the Mississippi River, and the museum chronicles life on the river over the centuries. They also have some really cool recreations of giant paddle boats and Civil war vessels, so you feel like you’ve stepped back in time.

The “crew” inside a replica of a ballroom from the late 1800s.

Here’s my dad and I on the steam paddle boat recreation. The lighting is a little creepy!

Outside the museum is a scale model of the lower Mississippi River, with real water! The boys had fun playing in the water, and we enjoyed a picnic outside nearby.

It was a fun day, we made lots of memories! Do you like museums

8 thoughts on “Curly Hair and a Trip to Memphis

  1. What great pics Rachel – you have such a big family!! I love going to museums and learning about the history of specific places, my boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend in St. Augustine and went to tons of old museums and buildings. It was a really neat experience. PS – your natural hair is gorgeous!

    Stephanie

  2. I really enjoy museums with my family – we’ve done everything from the Art Institute in Chicago to the Louisville Slugger Museum. You had on a great outfit for a day of exploring (and your curly hair is so cute!).

  3. Pingback: High Five for Friday « Making Life Fabulous

Comment-I love to hear your thoughts!