Decisions, Decisions

As if my senior year of college wasn’t crazy enough… I’ve decided to begin applying for grad schools this fall!

For the past couple of years, many of my professors have been encouraging my to apply to go to grad school for engineering. Initially, I didn’t think I was going to, but situations have changed, and now, it’s a possibility! At this point, I’m still not sure what I really want to do after college. Part of me just wants to find an engineering job, and start working. But, I think it would also be amazing to have the opportunity to to to grad school and do research and learn even more! For now, I’m just going to apply for grad schools and fellowships, see where I get accepted, and make my decision in the spring when I have all the information.
It’s a little scary thinking about all the decisions I have to make soon, but I’m going to just take one day at a time, seek counsel from people I respect and trust, and trust God to lead me where He wants me to go! Last night, one of my little brothers told me that I couldn’t move away from home, because then I wouldn’t have anybody to cook for me, or do my laundry, or keep me company! He’s so sweet πŸ™‚

So, now I’ve added studying for the GRE and working through applications to my already full days! It will be an adventure, for sure. Although, this girl isn’t exactly helping me focus on studying…

What are your views on graduate school? Is it a good idea to take the opportunity now, or is it important to have a few years of real world experience first?

8 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions

  1. I think that it’s really a personal decision. I think only you know what’s best for you! There’s never a way to really know what the ‘right’ decision is before you do it, but that’s part of life. Good luck! πŸ™‚

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  2. I think grad school depends on your situation. If there is a good job possibility for you after college then take it! If you think a Master’s degree is required to get a good job in your field then it’s probably a good idea. Definitely see if you can get good scholarships. Debt is not a fun thing to deal with and I think real world experience is more important than school. I took a year off from school to work and prepare for applying/auditions before I went to grad school (I went for music though). Good luck! πŸ™‚

Comment-I love to hear your thoughts!

