Warrior Girl

When my sister began taking taekwondo in the fall of 2011, I never dreamed that a year later, I would be joining her and loving it!

Making Life Fabulous

Here I am as a humble white belt, on my very first day. I was skeptical of how much I would enjoy it, as I’m not usually the “fierce” type! 😛

Now I’ve been taking taekwondo for a little over three months, and have loved every minute of it. I recently moved up to my next belt level, hooray orange belt!

6a2a2f8e719411e2ad1922000a1cbd31_7 Here are some of the reasons I love taekwondo, and why I would encourage anyone to try it!

  • It’s a fun and varied way to stay fit and flexible! The forms and moves require both strength and flexibility, and use every part of your body. An hour long class is a full body workout, I always leave sweaty and feeling great!
  • There’s a great sense of community and accountability. Our instructor, or master, knows each student by name and wants everyone to excel. All the students encourage, help, and have fun with each other, regardless of what level they are. I know everyone is counting on me being there to participate in class, so I am less inclined to skip my workout!
  • The various belt levels give a definite set of goals, and help me see a progression of improvement! It’s always so important to have goals, and to be rewarded when you reach them. Also, there are fun tournaments to compete in if you’re good! My sister is about to participate in her first one this weekend. Maybe I’ll go to the next tournament!
  • While it’s not the main reason I’m taking taekwondo, it is good to know that I’m learning skills that could help me better defend myself if I was ever in danger. Of course, I hope I never have to actually use my knowledge, but it is comforting to know that I could!

You don’t have to be super fierce or intense to do taekwondo, you just have to be willing to work hard and be disciplined! (Although I have be pleasantly suprised to discover a bit of warrior girl in myself in the past few months…)  If you’re looking for a new way to stay fit, or an interesting new activity, try taekwondo! Many studios will allow people to try a class for free to see if you like it. People of all ages and walks of life come to my class, everyone from stay-at-home moms, to teachers, doctors, and students.

4 thoughts on “Warrior Girl

Comment-I love to hear your thoughts!

